The CSRF Awards

CSRF acknowledges the contributions to human sexuality and sexology in Canada with two different awards. 

A Call for Nominations for the award will be circulated with the Call for Presentations.  The Past President will strike a committee composed of the Senior Student representative along with past award winners or members at large to evaluate the submissions. Any member of the Executive Council is also eligible to nominate an individual for this award, but not to be nominated themselves

CSRF Outstanding Contribution Award

This award is made to recognize outstanding contributions to research, education, policy or clinical practice in human sexuality/sexology in Canada.  The individual will, through their work, have advanced the field of sexuality research or enhanced the sexual health and well-being of Canadians.  This work may include activities such as publishing in scholarly journals, publishing edited or popular press books, developing training programs or therapeutic approaches, sex education in the media, political activism or leadership or other such activities. 


The 2016 CSRF Outstanding Contribution Award was awarded to Alex McKay for his contributions to research and education in sexual health through SIECCAN and the Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality.

CSRF Service Award

This award is made to recognize outstanding contributions to CSRF, the organization. 



Ed Herold Receiving the Outstanding Contribution Award in 2011

Recent CSRF Award Winners

Outstanding Contribution Award:

  • Alex McKay (2016)
  • Eleanor Maticka-Tyndale (2015)
  • Caroline Pukall (2014)
  • Michael Barrett & Dan Savage (2013)
  • Ed Herold (2011)
  • Mary Valentich (2010)

CSRF Service Award:

  • Robin Milhausen (2016)
  • Pierre Assalian (2012)
  • Sandra Byers (2005)

Past CSRF Awards Winners:

  • Maryanne Doherty
  • Michael Barrett
  • Anne Barrett
  • Elenor Maticka-Tyndale
  • Mary Valentich & Jim Gripton

If you have any information that would help us to update our list of award winners, please contact Martin Lalumière.